Various Artists
Fly Away: The Songs of David Foster (EP)


1000 Numbered

February 2009


Fly Away: The Songs of David Foster is a labor of love that celebrates the art of one of the most talented musicians ever to appear on the pop scene - David Foster.


The concept has been to bring new life to some of the brighter gems in Foster's immense catalogue, and producer and arranger extraordinaire Tomi Malm has been instrumental in creating the perfect vehicle to reach that goal. Assembling a spectacular cast of vocalists, including Bill Champlin, Jeff Pescetto, Robbie Dupree, Bill LaBounty, Lisa Lovbrand, Joe Pizzulo, Bill Cantos, Cecily Gardner, Frank Adahl, Ole Borud, Arnold McCuller and the unforgettable Warren Wiebe, backed-up by an elite group of studio musicians, including David Foster himself, Jay Graydon, John Robinson, Nathan East, Abraham Laboriel, Paul Jackson Jr, Michael Landau, Jeremy Lubbock, Ramon Stagnaro and Brandon Fields, this is a once-in-a-lifetime record that will not fail to live up to the expectations of the most demanding Foster fans. Scheduled to release on March 9th, 2009.


In advance of the release of the full-length album, we are pleased to present a limited edition 3-song EP previewing two of the album's songs, "In The Stone" and "No Explanation", plus a BONUS TRACK,"After All", performed by the soulful Leslie Smith, which is available only on this EP release.


"In The Stone" is a powerful cover of the Foster-penned Earth, Wind & Fire classic. This amazing version is respectful to the original yet presents exciting new elements. The legendary Bill Champlin on lead vocals adds some soul to this funky jam, supported by the smoking Danish All Star Horns and an all-star rhythm section that includes John "JR" Robinson on drums, Nathan East on bass and Paul Jackson Jr. on guitar.


"No Explanation", originally performed by Peter Cetera for the Pretty Woman soundtrack, is a ballad that Foster co-wrote with singer/songwriter Bill LaBounty. What a treat to listen to LaBounty's take on his own song! The acoustic setting is perfect for the singer's evocative performance, supported by the wonderful harmonica of Tollak Ollestad and some tasteful guitar playing by Dan Warner. The result is pure bliss.


"After All" is one the musical gems that Foster created with Jay Graydon for Al Jarreau. Here, an inventive arrangement breathes new life into this smooth ballad, featuring the voice of the very soulful singer Leslie Smith, a horn arrangement by Jan Glaesel, and fantastic musicianship by session greats John "JR" Robinson, Abe Laboriel and Dan Warner. Remember, this wonderful track won't be included in the full-length album, so you won't want to miss it!

Released in a limited edition of only 1000 copies.